The Realms

Depending on our level of consciousness, we as humans can be born into SIX REALMS which are different forms of existence. These forms of existence can also be thought of as psychological states we experience in our current life in the human realm.

Here are a list of THE REALMS taken from the section called Beginner’s Mind in the Buddhist magazine, Lion’s Roar, September 2017:

Higher Realms

God Realm: A blissful, ethereal state in which one is supremely contented but oblivious to the suffering of others.

Jealous God Realm: Fueled by Ego and aggression, jealous or warring gods (asuras) are always striving to rise in power and position.

Human Realm: Passionate and perceptive, human beings experience many states of mind and have the most opportunity to free themselves from the cycle of death and rebirth (samsara).

Lower Realms

Animal Realm: A life of ignorant complacency and dullness, in which one doesn’t look beyond avoiding pain and seeking comfort.

Hungry Ghost Realm: Incalculably frustrated by desires they cannot fulfill, hungry ghosts (pretas) are depicted with big bellies and tiny mouths.

Hell Realm: A claustrophobic place of extreme hot or cold in which you can’t escape the torment of your own intense anger or hate.

What realm do you relate to? This, then, is your state of being.


Popular posts from this blog

To Know What God Is

We Humans Are Not What We Believe We Are