Saturday, January 2, 2016

In 2016, be a Bodhisattva.

"Mahayana Buddhist tradition defined by bodhichitta, is the intention to bring all sentient beings to enlightenment. Those who vow to achieve enlightenment for the BENEFIT OF OTHERS are known as bodhisattvas. Their path is based on the six transcendent perfections, the paramitas. The paramitas are:

1. Generosity

2. Discipline

3. Patience

4. Exertion

5. Meditation

6. Prajna-wisdom or 'best knowledge.'

The paramitas are the supreme way to attain merit, giving one the fuel and strength to take all beings across the waters of life to the shore of enlightenment.

Let us all strive to be bodhisattvas in the world, spiritual leaders without an agenda to convert and simply be a beacon of Love, Compassion and Light for others. Let us be a constructive force in the world and by our actions lead others to enlightenment, not forgetting about ourselves.

This is a noble cause, I believe and not the kind of judgemental, religious proselytizing that is so prevalent on our planet. I am not asking you to embrace Buddhism. I am simply sharing with you how to change the world by changing yourself, for isn't promoting and achieving enlightenment not a worthy endeavor?

No comments:

Post a Comment