Wednesday, June 17, 2015


I take a page, today, out of Mahayana Buddhist tradition which is defined by Bodhichitta.

What is Bodhichitta and why is it important to know about this?

Bodhichitta is the intention to bring all sentient beings to enlightenment. Those who vow to achieve enlightenment for the benefit of others are known as Bodhisattvas. Their path is based on the six transcendent perfections known as the Paramitas.

The Paramitas are:

1. Generosity.

2. Discipline.

3. Patience.

4. Exertion.

5. Meditation.

6. Prajna - wisdom or "best knowledge."

The Paramitas are the supreme way to attain merit, giving one the fuel and strength to take all beings across the waters to enlightenment.

This is a worthy endeavor and for me, is at the core of stepping onto your own Wisdom Path where you recognize that the gathering of wisdom and being a Wisdom Keeper is not for yourself alone.

No comments:

Post a Comment